2014 Cardinals Hall Of Fame Induction Class Announced

The St. Louis Cardinals announced that Jim Edmonds, Willie McGee, Mike Shannon and Marty Marion will be inducted into the St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 16. This is the first induction class since the team dedicated the Cardinals Hall of Fame with an Inaugural Class on Opening Day in St. Louis earlier this month.

HOF-Cards-Logo-200“We are proud to enshrine this elite group of Cardinals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the honor of permanently joining the greatest names in Cardinals history in our Hall of Fame,” said Bill DeWitt Jr., Cardinals chairman and chief executive officer. “We congratulate each of them on this tremendous honor and look forward to celebrating their achievements in August during Induction Weekend.”

The St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame was established as a way to recognize the exceptional careers and significant achievements of the greatest players in Cardinals history, as well as those who have made exceptional contributions to the organization. To be eligible, players must have played for the Cardinals for at least three seasons and must be retired as a player from Major League Baseball for at least three years. The eligible pool of players is divided into two categories, modern players and veteran players. If a player retired more than 40 years prior to the induction year, he is classified as a veteran player.

Continue reading